Do you know what the liturgical colors mean?

The liturgical colors are the specific colors that are used for the celebration of Holy Mass. They are used to differentiate the seasons of the liturgical yearThe color of the logo should be chosen to highlight a given festival or fair in the calendar or a special occasion, thus defining the color in which they should be used. altar ornaments, of the celebrant and of the ministers in the celebrations.

Four colors are usually used: white, red, green and purple. Each has its own meaning. In addition, the black, the pink and the blue for certain occasions.


Whitethis color represents God. It symbolizes joy, purity, time of jubilation and peace. It is used during the Easter and Christmas time. It is also used in the solemnities of the Lord Jesus Christ not related to the Passion (Sacred Heart of Jesus, Ascension, Christ the King), in the feasts and solemnities on which Mary is celebratedThe Church of St. Joseph, to saints who did not die martyrs (for example, St. Joseph, St. John, apostle and evangelist), to saints and archangels, and on the Nativity of St. John the Baptist.


Purplesymbolizes the spiritual preparation and penance. Used in Advent and Lenttimes, times of preparation for Christmas and Easter respectively. It is also used in the administration of the sacrament of penance and in general in all types of penitential acts. Since the liturgical reform it is used for the suffrages for the deceased. Also in the seasons of petition, as well as on Monday, Tuesday and Holy Wednesday because it is still the time of Lent.


GreenSymbolizes the virtue of hope. Used during the Ordinary TimeAfter Christmas until Lent and after Easter until Advent, on Sundays and on those days that do not require any other color. It is a time of hope for the coming of the Messiah and for the saving Resurrection respectively.


RedSymbolizes the blood and the power of the Holy Spirit. It refers to the virtue of love for God. It is used mainly in the feast of the Passion of the Lord (Palm Sunday and Good Friday). Also in feast of the Holy Spirit (Pentecost Sunday), in the feast of the holy martyrsIt is used in the administration of the sacrament of Confirmation and in liturgies and liturgies dedicated to the instruments of the Passion. In the Holy See, it is used for the funeral rites of cardinals or of the Supreme Pontiff.


RosaSymbolizes a relaxation of the penitential rigor. It is used in the mass of Sunday Gaudete (third Sunday of Advent) to indicate the approach of Christmas and the Sunday Laetare (the fourth of Lent) because of the proximity of Easter.


Black: Symbolizes mourning and suffrage for the deceasedIt is used in church celebrations and burials, as well as on the feast of the faithful departed on November 2.


BlueIn Spain and in Hispanic countries, they have the privilege of using the color blue, which is the color that symbolizes purity and virginity. It is used exclusively on the Feast of the Immaculate Conception.


Share this:

C/ Galileo Galilei, 19.
28806, Alcalá de Henares,
Madrid. Spain
(+34) 91 802 36 55

Serving the Church with sacred art since 1891

Serving the Church with sacred art since 1891

C/ Galileo Galilei, 19.
28806, Alcalá de Henares,
Madrid. Spain
(+34) 91 802 36 55

Granda Art Workshops © Granda 2024
Terms and Conditions
Legal NoticePrivacy Policy
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram